How to look at gender bias in fandom vs. canon?

destinationtoast:

destinationtoast:

As I mentioned earlier, I’m trying to work on a fandom stats follow-up to my post about gender bias in television that looks at how much bias there is in fanworks compared to how much we’d expect there to be based on canon.  Before I get too far into my analysis, though, I’d like to make sure I’m asking the right questions.  There are so many different ways that bias can come into play, and so many possible factors.  

Here are the questions I’ve come up with so far.  I’d love feedback/additional thoughts and ideas.  You don’t have to be a statsy person to give them.  (But it might help if you’ve read or skimmed the first post.)

Keep reading

Reblogging this to get more input from anyone else who is interested – if you click through, you can leave an answer on the original post (or you can leave a longer answer in my askbox/via reblog).

Meanwhile, I’ve gotten a tiny bit distracted (but just for a couple hours!) looking at how creators use warnings, thanks to @otpodcast and their latest episode, which you might want to check out if you’re interested in a thoughtful discussion on warnings, squicks and triggers.  Look for a few stats from me soon. 🙂

Leave a comment