imtooticky:

mid0nz:

oldgrimalkin:

mustangsally78:

turtletotem:

kernezelda:

ninemoons42:

bottledminx:

theragnarokd:

vivagloria:

la-belle-laide:

Reblog if you are an adult woman (single, married, mom, non-mom, whatever!) professional, who did not give up fandom, fanfic, or fanart when you “grew up.” 

AND WHO ARE YOU?

(I’m 43, single Mom, massage therapist, dance teacher, professional writer – still addicted to fanfic! My fandoms are Inception, Star Wars, MCU, and video games.)

I am certainly not ‘grown up’, though I pull off Adulting like I’m getting paid for it. (Oh wait…) 50, happily single, technical author, read lots of fic and write a little. Mostly MCU for now.

And have been thinking a lot lately about ageism in fandom.

*sidles up* Do adult AFAB agender folk count too?

I’m 30, married with one kid, programmer, major fic addict. mostly in Person of Interest fandom.

30, just bought a house, fandom 4 lyfe

turning 34 this year. fandom is getting me through an abrupt reintroduction to the single life. fandom and fanfic have kept me alive and given me reasons to smile and laugh. fandoms at present: some MCU but mostly Star Wars

45 this year, single woman, home owner, have worked 19 years in my current place of employment. Discovered fan fiction in my senior year of high school, and it has led to the best things in my life: writing, friendships, independence of thought and the ability to allow myself to enjoy my leisure activities without having to justify myself to anyone.

31-year-old woman, single, library assistant, did not even get into fandom until I was out of college and working my first full-time job. (At least, fandom as such; I did write a Star Wars novel in sixth grade.) At this point fandom is the majority of my social life, which means I actually have one, and is definitely one of my great joys.

SINGLE, ALMOST 50 WOMAN, BURNING THROUGH MENOPAUSE. HAVE BEEN IN FANDOM SINCE AGE 12. EDUCATOR, OLD PUNK ROCKER, ACADEMICALLY TRAINED MARXIST THEORY HISTORIAN.

50 YO. Graphic Designer. Nerd formidable.

46 in a few days. Partnered lesbian. Former academic. IT. Found fandom at age 42- thank you Sherlock. Brought me joy, a sense of creative purpose, amazing friends, and I found somebody I was supposed to know since the day I was born. Yeah and I’m launching my own arts journal with help from tons of ppl I met through fandom. So yeah. Ageism Smageism. Middle age, if we’re lucky, comes to us all…

Almost 53. Single. Been teaching science for 31 years. (!!!) I am a spinster schoolmarm!

I have been fannish since birth. Used to think fanfic – though I didn’t know it was fanfic – in my head at the age of 9 or 10. (“The Mod Squad,” “The Rookies” and “Planet of the Apes” TV show are my earliest memories of fangirling.) Got through high school gym class standing in the outfield and imagining great “Starsky and Hutch” angst scenarios in which Queen’s “You’re My Best Friend” would play in the background.* Current fandom is “Sherlock.” But I’m considering a Tormund/Brienne fanvid because OH. EM. GEE.

(*You kids today don’t have any idea how good you have it! In my day, we didn’t have cameras in our phones! If we wanted a fanvid, we had to make it up in our heads! And we couldn’t find the YouTube clip and watch it a thousand times as soon as the episode aired! We had to remember dialog WITH OUR BRAINS!! And shows weren’t available on Hulu and Netflix the next morning! We had to WAIT to see our episodes again. How did we know when the episodes would Air? WE WALKED! 2.2 miles!! To buy the TV Guide at the store. And read the late-night syndicated episode descriptions for years and years and then sneakily get up at 1 a.m. – hoping parents wouldn’t hear us! – to rewatch that episode “Shootout” where Starsky gets shot in the Italian restaurant** because there were NO FREAKING VCRs yet!!!)

27 in a few months, single, certified English and elementary teacher who is waiting for a teaching position to open up. I think I’m the youngest here but I still count as an adult, don’t I? Found fandom at age 14, and it’s kept me alive through deep bouts of depression, ugly ugly fights with parents, addiction, non-con, and blatant and aggressive homophobia in the area I live in. My fandoms have been, in order of appearance: Harry Potter, a slight dash of Pokemon (like two months), House, M.D., Criminal Minds, CSI: Miami, Kaicho wa Maid-Sama!, Prince of Tennis, Kuroko no Basuke, Bleach, Law and Order:  SVU, NCIS, Free! Iwatobi Swim Club, Shingeki No Kyojin, MCU: Avengers, Captain America: TFA, Thor/Thor: TDW, and finally and currently: Sherlock (BBC). I still am sporadically obsessionally active in all my previous fandoms, it just depends on my mood which one I go to.

@imtooticky I know how lucky we are. I still remember when in elementary and middle school I knew all my extended family’s and every single one of my friends’ home phone numbers. I can still rattle off about an easy dozen off the top of my head, even if they’ve long been reassigned to someone else. I remember waiting all day on the radio after calling in and requesting a song just so that I could record it on my cassette. 🙂 

Leave a comment